Circles of Hell

by M-Rebeiro

Dante Alighieri in a painting of the Divine Comedy in Florence, Italy. The Nine Circles of Hell are in the background.

The circles of hell are a concept derived from The Inferno, the first part of Dante Alighieri’s Divine Comedy. The circles are locations of suffering reserved for particular sins which are located within the Earth and in the poem, Dante travels with the Roman poet Virgil for the ultimate rejection of sin.

Largely influential on popular depictions of Hell by popularizing the Medieval vision, the concept of Hell being divided into circles has become an ubiquitous pop culture expression. To tell someone that their crime or sin was particularly heinous, you need simply invent a new circle of Hell to occupy.

The nine circles of Hell as depicted in The Inferno are as follows:

  1. Limbo (For those who were virtuous but did not accept Jesus)
  2. Lust
  3. Gluttony
  4. Greed
  5. Anger
  6. Heresy
  7. Violence
  8. Fraud
  9. Treachery

Read more:,507/

©2019, All rights reserved.